Conversation…with my child

1106315_snow_man_1

“Sweetie, come and look out the window. Look at all that snow!”

“Can we go and make a snowman?”

“Sure! Let’s get bundled up and find some carrots…”

“Mummy, what are the carrots for?”

“You’ll see.”

After a drink, a visit to the bathroom, putting on a sweater, finding all the outdoor clothes to bundle up in and struggling with snow pants we’re just about ready to go outside.

“Let Mummy help you with that zipper.”

“Thanks, Mummy. I’m going to be so warm.”

“Chin up! There we go. Okay, I’ll get my coat and boots on and we’re ready to go.’

“Don’t forget my scarf!”

Smiling and singing we practically dance as we head outside. Well, if you can call it dancing when you’re so bundled up in a snowsuit, hat, scarf, mitts and big boots that you can hardly move. But it was joyful dancing as far as we were concerned.

I loved being the mother of young children and playing with them. Colouring, making our own calendars, playing in the snow, tobogganing… Okay, maybe I was just extending my childhood. But, it felt right to spend time with them, to enjoy them.

Let’s journey together.

© 2008 Denise Budd Rumble

Leave a comment